Skip to content

North Gibson T-ballers battle for championship

SHE’S OUT – Shady Tint’s Brodie Thomason catches the ball and chase downs Volunteer Insurance’s Kortland Shanklin for an out during the championship game. (Photo by Lori Cathey)

by Lori Cathey

Eight North Gibson T-Ball League teams competed for the league championship in the T-Ball tournament. The double elimination tournament began on Tuesday night, May 30, and went through Sunday afternoon, June 4, at Rutherford City Park.

Shady Tint went undefeated in the North Gibson T-Ball League Tournament and defeated Volunteer Insurance 16 to 6 in the championship game Sunday afternoon.

In the first night of action, Shady Tint defeat Kenton; J and B Motors beat Brad’s Barber Shop; Volunteer Insurance won over Powerlift; and Hester’s Drug Co. picked-up a win against Absolute Construction. In the second round of the winners’ bracket Shady Tint won over J and B Motors, and Hester’s Drug Co. beat Volunteer Insurance. In the losers’ bracket Brad’s Barber Shop defeated Kenton, and Absolute Construction earned a win over Powerlift. In the first game Friday night, Hester’s Drug Co. defeated Volunteer Insurance in the winners’ bracket, but J and B Motors and Volunteer Insurance both earned wins in the loser bracket in the second game. Saturday night, Shady Tint got a big win over Hester’s Drug Co. to become the only undefeated team in the tournament. Volunteer Insurance beat Hester’s Drug Co. in the semi-final game to advance to the championship game. Rutherford Hester’s Drug Co. finished in third place.

Shady Tint started the championship game off by getting the first three Volunteer Insurance batters out. In the bottom of the inning, Shady Tint scored seven runs to take a 7 to 0 lead. Neither teams scored in the second inning. Volunteer Insurance got on the scoreboard in the top of the third inning, scoring two runs making it 7 to 2 Shady Tint. In the bottom of the inning, Shady Tint scored three runs to take a 10 to 2 lead. Volunteer Insurance came right back and scored four runs in the fourth, but Shady Tint added six more runs in the bottom of the inning for a 16 to 6 championship victory.

Members of the Shady Tint championship team are Carson Polizzi, Weston Thompson, Brox Renfroe, JP Wofford, Brayden Skinner, Cameron Lownsdale, Brodie Thomason, Ethan Litton, Liam Cole, Saydi Fletcher, Ace Young, Harlan Crossnoe, Gunner Brown and Kameron Adams. Brian Renfroe, Stephen Wofford, Charles King and Bethany Renfroe coached Shady Tint.

Members of runners-up Volunteer Insurance are Alton Kail, Cooper Kelley, Chandler Abbott, Ja’Haziah Smith, Jayden Jones, Blaine Moore, Oakleigh White, Remington Lovell, Kortland Shanklin, Pierce McMalister, Charley Lamar, Dylan Huggins and Cayden Edwards. Ashley Simpson, Lindsay Moore, Sara Beth Woods, Kurtis Shanklin and Amanda McMalister coached Volunteer Insurance.

Leave a Comment